Ok, what’s the FREAKING big deal with wedding reception fare? 

Josh and I have decided, and for the most part secured, a BBQ Beach wedding reception with a semi-traditional wedding cake.  Ok cool, portable, yummy, and not fussy, exactly what I want.  

What’s I am running into are the expressions of some folks when I describe the feast fest PARTY! 

From my girlfriends “Are you kidding!  That is so great, you should do what you want.  I remember what a pain in the ass planning my wedding reception was….*sigh*”  Ladies = +1 and I thank you! 

From the guys* at work – “Are you sure?  I mean whatever you want Anne, its your day, but reallynothing formal?”  Guys = -1 WTF!!!  I thought they would be behind me all the way!

*Being that I am one of 5 females on my entire floor of over 70 folks, I will just refer to them as “guys”

From the wedding planning sites (that I no longer visit) – “Look for something timeless that goes with your style, coordinating table clothes and napkins can pull in that beautiful color scheme you have chosen.”  Another WTF moment.  What year are we in people?  Its not like I can skip down the rose petal aisle and jump a broom pretending I haven’t done this before!  Har Har  Wedding Sites = -1

I was beginning to take a little offense and slightly fearful that folks coming to the reception would be  upset if I provided BBQ (really good BBQ by the way)?  Are they expecting a 7 course meal?  Would the beach setting be too casual? 

HA!  Who cares!  Josh and My Day = + Infinity votes, So THERE!

We win, and so will my guests, when they get to eat some damn good food on a great spot by the beach and have a damn good time! 

