Contrary to popular belief, my days do not revolve around gardening and sewing.  I do have a day job, which I love and sometimes pinch myself in disbelief that I get to do what I do, AND get paid to do it. 

I work to integrate the actions of our government agencies (State Department, Defense, USAID, Commerce, Agriculture, Etc) in overseas and homeland operations.  We do this by practicing and exercising what we agree to do and then execute it in the real world!  To maintain a level of understanding of what is really going on out there, I receive and read situation reports and talk with the boots on the ground in regards to what our departments and agencies are doing in the name of democracy, human rights and freedom.  I received a report with the above picture attached and it made me elated. 

Those men are US Marines delivering humanitarian assistance supplies, provided by the US Agency for International Development (USAID).  For fear of stepping up on a slippery soap box, look at this picture objectively.  Those men are our US military helping, not swinging guns around shooting people for no good reason, like our fine private media outlets want us to believe all US military does overseas. 

How empowering and heartening it is to see any proof that our military and agencies are working together for the greater good, using their resources for good, and giving the people of the world support when called to do so.  The partnerships between our military and State Department, USAID and other agencies is a dynamic one becoming more integrated with every Provincial Reconstruction Team in Afghanistan and bill moving through Congress.

I know many people in my generation believe that change isn’t occurring at levels necessary.  I agree, but Rest assured, change and growth is and at the micro-level.  The so-what of this picture, is not a political statement, just one to show that in this world….Goodness is happening.

 

