After checking Heather’s, a dear friend, blogs today, I noticed she awarded me with an Arte y Pico award.  I was stunned, especially since I envy her and her blogging style and prowess. 

Heather and I have what I would consider a long history, if you count five years as long history.  Not only was she the person who got me in the business I am in today (thank you, thank you, thank you), she helped me go from fat-ass (really I am serious) to actually living in the healthy BMI range.  We first met when i walked into her step aerobics class back in early 2003.  I was huge, sitting around 215 lbs.  As the instructor I was expecting her to be distant with me since I was over-weight, but we had a good connection even from the beginning.  I think it was our similar sense’s of humor.  As the pounds dropped off, I kept going to class and we learned more and more about one another.  She and I share a strong bond on many levels and topics from work to day-to-day life.  We became close, and eventually came to work together in our full-time job life.  it was great to have a strong, driven, and confident female to interact with. 

In addition, Heather’s blog – Finding Atman – is a daily read for me.  It helps me to see into the mind of a working mother, what I am sure will be my title.  She has great insight, and always a common sense approach that we all need from time-to-time.  Needless to say, I would consider her a great friend.

Ok to get on with the Arte y Pico award…It comes with rules, see below:

  1. You have to pick 5 blogs that you consider deserving of this award for their creativity, design, interesting material, and also contribute to the blogging community, no matter what language.
  2. Each award has to have the name of the author and a link to his/her blog to be visited by everyone.
  3. Each award winner has to show the award and put the name and link to the blog that presented her/him with the award.
  4. The award winner and one who has given the prize have to show the link “Arte y Pico” blog so everyone will know the origin of this award.
  5. Show these rules.

Ok so now I have to hold up to my end of the deal.  I have to pick five blogs.  I am not sure if that includes Heather’s or not, but just assume it does and I will move-out from there. 

1.  U-Handblog– Lisa Lam is a sewing goddess when it comes to making handbags.  She makes her own patterns and shares many of them with us her fans.  She took the leap and opened her own sewing business, of which I commend her intestinal fortitude!  She has great style and inspiration.  From London-town, I award U-Handblog my first award. 

2.  Farmgirl Fare– Susan is a future farmer’s go-to for great bread recipes, stories of farm-life and great pictures.  I am attracted to her blog because of her representation of farm-life, which I lived to some extent growing up.  From Central Missouri her sheep, donkeys, dogs and bread, keep me coming back for more. 

3.  Craft Apple – Lindie serves up some more great sewing inspiration when it comes to bags and new patterns.  I like checking in to see what fabrics she is using and any new patterns she has available. 

4.  Savage Minds – This site, developed by multiple contributors really gets my head in the game for some tough problems at work.  They provide current, up-to-date information on global issues that truly shape the direction of my daily work.  It is a great asset, I get excellent gouge from them.  Savage Minds is a collective web log devoted to both bringing anthropology to a wider audience as well as providing an online forum for discussing the latest developments in the field.

5.  Apron Strings– Judy and I have just “connected” online and share many of the same interests – sewing, animals and the simple life.  She makes some fantastic bags.  The first thing that attracted me to her site was the last picture on this post!  HA!

Alrighty!  So there you go.  I hope everyone has a great holiday weekend.  Am celebrating my 29th birthday this weekend YAY!  And running around like a chicken with my head cut-off – my wedding is in 16 DAYS!!!!  HORRAY!!!

