Let’s sum it up… 

Oct 7 – Mason Thomas was born – despite my desire for the wonders of natural childbirth, I didn’t progress at all and he HAD to come out…cesarean it was!  It was the most incredible feeling ever.  Take the emotion of falling in love and multiply that by the largest number you can think of and that sorta comes close to how awesome it was to see him for the first time.  He immediately took to nursing, of which I was thankful.  We established his schedule pretty well and we even went on our first trip to meet the extended family two weeks after he was born.  It was magic!! 

From Mason’s First Week

Then…. 

Nov 1 – KABOOOMMM My back explodes.  A disc ruptured in my L4-L5 and I was COMPLETELY debilitated.  I called my mom around 9pm that evening and said “Mom I can’t walk, I need your help”  My mom had to come down and take care of Mason and me so Josh could go to work…for six weeks!  I literally could not do anything until my back surgery on Nov 19.  I couldn’t nurse for 20 days, that was heartbreaking.  Mason and I were on the floor together for all that time. 

From Mason the Back-Breaker

  

He was really the only thing that kept me going.  I did not have the maternity leave I dreamed of.  I felt robbed.  I cried out of pain, and sometimes screamed but I also cried out of grief because I didn’t have that magic time with my baby.  My mom was the greatest through all of it.  We couldn’t have done it without her.  

From Mason the Back-Breaker

   

To add to it, my image of all the sweet sewing projects that I was going to do for Mason didn’t happen, I didn’t do all the holiday baking I wanted and I certainly didn’t decorate the house for the holidays, much to the chagrin of Kyle. 

From Mason’s 6th and 7th Weeks
From Mason meets Santa

Thank goodness for the Christmas Tree at Mom’s house.  It has been quite a road to recovery, but thanks to the help of family and friends life is getting better everyday.  

From Christmas and New Year 20092010

I have been extremely embarrassed for not updating my blog, and I realized the other day all of these great things are happening to Mason that I have start documenting….like daily…or close to it.   He is nearly 6 months old and I cannot believe how much has changed already.  He certainly is my sweet boy and he sighs the deep sigh and puts his head on my shoulder when I pick him up out of his crib in the mornings.  I love it….like really love it.  I sometimes can’t believe he is MY son.  I have this running list of things he does that I LOVE and mentally write down in my head such as…. 

– While in his bouncy chair he kicks both his legs simultaneously and makes the chair bounce so much, he laughs, we all laugh.  It is great. 

– The mmmm sound he makes when I put a spoonful of peas (that I made) in his mouth.  Then he opens quickly for more Mommy! 

– His coos, razzberries and little gabber talk. 

– The way he calls for us to come keep him company.  It is like a bird call, and it works! 

– His fat legs. 

– How he sucks his bottom lip when he is asleep. 

– His HUGE smile when I make that clicking noise (the one to call horses) he loves so much.  

And on and on and on…My list will get longer I am certain of that.  How else am I going to remember all of these things?  

I am going to put away my guilt and just start again….

